Gallery

Summer Reading!! Eeeeeek!

Okay, okay…let’s all take a deep cleansing breath and repeat after me.  “Summer reading is great fun.  Summer reading is great fun.  Ommmmmm……”

And we know summer reading is great fun, right?  For us as children and teen librarians and for the kids, as well, right?  It’s just that the planning process begins to take on a life of its own sometimes.  We eat, sleep and dream summer reading.  We get frazzled and all mired up in the details until we start to pull our hair out.  Even after my 16 years of preparing this annual event, I still feel unorganized and just know that I have forgotten something important.  I make lists, redo my lists, cross out and add, add, add.  I hold meetings with district staff and branch staff and send emails until I am blue in the face.  I just know that this planning will never end!

And then the first day of summer reading arrives.  The kids come pouring into the library to pick up their reading logs and to attend whatever storytime or program is on tap.  They want to know what activities we have planned for them to do in the library.  They want to see how many books all the summer reading participants together can read.  Can they beat last year’s record?  Their bright faces, their laughter and their chatter erases all my worries and obliterates all those to do lists down to nothing.  Those kiddos are here to see us!  They are here to read and take part in whatever we have to offer!  Their parents are appreciative and are our greatest supporters.  What was I so worried about??  Summer reading IS great fun!!!

So let’s all take a nice deep breath and look forward.  The kids are coming!  Now the real fun can begin!

(My apologies to Nicole and Sydney for the lateness of this post.  I was in the midst of planning some big program :o))

One response to “Summer Reading!! Eeeeeek!

  1. Thank you for capturing the essence of the Summer Reading Program so beautifully! Have a great summer, everyone! –Beth

Leave a Reply

